My inspiration Shanika

 

So earlier this year I was having some personal issues and heading in a downward spiral. Les Twins got me through it with their videos.

 

Then I discovered a fan fiction story about them on Les Twins Love Facebook page  called Deception. One day I decided not to lurk but to comment on the story and thats how I met Shanika. She and I instantly clicked and I clicked that Add Friend button on Facebook. We began talking about Deception and our hate for the main character and I found myself laughing so hard at Shanika

we would be up all night cracking up on Facebook. We shared our stories and found we were very similar in many ways. So I told her about my love for writing and she challenged me to write a fan fic of my own about Laurent ((yes Ima Laurent girl))

So one night after tucking my kids in to sleep I snuggled under a blanket on my couch and put on my Beats By Dre headphones and played Kanye West Runaway and zoned out and wrote the 1st chapter. I was scared to share it because I didn’t know what anyone may think. I rushed to post it and Shanika was the 1st to read it. She loved it. I started to share it on my Twitter,Tumblr and Facebook next thing I knew I went from 8 views the 1st day to 565 views by the end of the week and these views were from all over the world. I felt so happy. I got a few haters saying it was too violent ect. but I keep at it and

  

and my views just kept getting higher and higher. I was nominated and WON Best LT Fanfic online by the LT fans. And the writing pulled me right out of what I was going through. I found myself again and never felt better. I owe all of it to this one person who believed in me when my light was dim. I found MY happiness again in writing. 

Now lemme make this clear my children are my world and they make me happy but often times as parents we loose ourselves in making everyone else happy and we forget to do things for ourselves. The writing was for ME and no matter what I went through or ever go through or where I am NOONE can take that from me. I watched Shanika go from her own issues to achieving one of her dreams of dancing and meeting the twins which inspired me as well…I kept pushing her to that she didnt think it was possible but she did it!

 

Not just once

but TWICE this year

Further more proving to me that ANYTHING is possible! So my dream was to publish a book.

Something that if you asked me at the beginning of this year would I have done I would kindly laugh at you but now

I DID IT! Despite ALL of the things trying to stop me I made no excuses but kept pushing and did it and have met so many amazing people in the process. I am so excited for what this new year brings for myself and my NEW sister Shanika! I can’t wait for us BOTH to attend a workshop together and dance together with the twins. This picture of her with this book just means the world to me ANYTHING is possible when you believe and you have someone who believes in your vision. Often times God sends us angels where we least expect it.

 

I will continue to fight

Write and accomplish all my dreams

P

get your copy of the book here
https://www.createspace.com/4077126

Leave a Reply

